

DEFENSE BUSINESS BOARD MEETING MINUTES MARCH 17, 2023

The Defense Business Board (DBB) is a Federal Advisory Committee within the Department of Defense (DoD) operating pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act of 1972, the Government in the Sunshine Act of 1976, and other appropriate federal regulations. The DBB meets on a quarterly basis, and at times out of cycle, when required. A two-hour virtual session, via Zoom, was held on March 17, 2023, to deliberate and vote on the recommendations from a recent study. The meeting was open to the public; registered public participants joined using Zoom.

DBB Members Present (14)

Hon. Deborah Lee James (Chair) Ms. Linnie Haynesworth (Vice Chair) Dr. Alex Alonso Mr. Joseph B. Anderson, Jr. Ms. Cheryl Eliano Dr. Christopher Gopal Ms. Erin Hill Ms. Mellody Hobson Ms. Suzanne Leopoldi-Nichols Ms. Jennifer McClure Gen Larry Spencer, USAF (Ret) Hon. David Walker GEN Johnnie Wilson, USA (Ret) Mr. Robert Wolf

DBB Members Not Present (7)

Mr. Craig Albright Mr. David Beitel Ms. Sally Donnelly Mr. Oscar Munoz Dr. David Van Slyke GEN Joseph Votel, USA (Ret) Mr. Safroadu Yeboah-Amankwah

DBB Staff (non-voting)

Ms. Jennifer Hill, Executive Director & Designated Federal Officer Lt Col Kyle Harrington, U.S. Air Force Military Representative to the DBB MAJ Jamaal Kirkland, U.S. Army Military Representative to the DBB Dr. Sherri R. Malace, Senior Advisor Ms. Kayla Cross, DoD Intern Ms. Gwyneth Murphy, DoD Intern Ms. Janice Mclaury, Research/Writer/Editor (Contractor) Mr. Ademola Oduyebo, Operations Analyst (Contractor) Mr. Anand Bahl, Consultant to the Board Mr. Greg Bowman, J.D., Consultant to the Board Mr. Matthew Daniel, Consultant to the Board Ms. Marachel Knight, Consultant to the Board Brig Gen Bernard (Bernie) Skoch, USAF (Ret), Consultant to the Board Mr. Stan Soloway, Consultant to the Board Ms. Pat Zarodkiewicz, Consultant to the Board

Public Attendees

The DBB received 19 requests from the public to participate in the open session. A list of all public attendees is attached as an addendum to these minutes.



OPEN PUBLIC SESSION

At 11:00 AM, Ms. Hill opened the public session and provided administrative remarks. Hon. James welcomed the Board members, guests, and public attendees, and turned the floor over to Ms. Jennifer McClure, Chair of the Talent Management, Culture, and Diversity Advisory Subcommittee.

From 11:15 AM - 12:00 PM, Ms. McClure and other members from Talent Management Subcommittee, presented for deliberation and vote, *Building a Civilian Talent Pipeline*. The members presented 14 key findings and 5 primary recommendations. In addition, the Subcommittee provided a notional roadmap for implementation. Primary recommendations included: Formalizing a Civilian Recruiting Function; Establishing a Defense Civilian Service Brand; Building Civilian Talent Pipelines; Instituting Metric Recommendations; and Removing Legal, Policy, and Organizational Challenges.

From 12:00-12:15 PM, Hon. James thanked the team for their work and opened the floor for Board member questions and comments. The members asked the subcommittee about several of their findings and recommendations, including whether they considered public-private partnerships, third party recruiters, and Government Accountability Office best practices as part of their recommendation set. One member commented that the report should be clear that the recommendation on occupational specialization for recruiters and sources apply to all components. The same member urged more detail in the report about the importance of and rationale for a certification program for the human resource functional community.

From 12:15-12:25 PM, Hon. James invited public comments. Mr. John Anderson from the American Federation of Government Employees provided written public comments.

At 12:25 PM, Hon. James called the roll for board member approval of the study. All members approved; Ms. Cheryl Eliano approved with consideration to the comments made by Mr. Anderson. Hon. James confirmed with consideration of the public comments as stated by Mr. Anderson.

ADJOURN PUBLIC SESSION

At 12:30 PM, Ms. Hill adjourned the public session.

By my signature, certified to be accurate and complete.

lachter Janes

Deborah Lee James Chair Defense Business Board



Attendees Sign-In Sheet ALL INFORMATION ON THIS SHEET IS PART OF THE PUBLIC RECORD

Name	Organization
Deborah L. Ray	Senior Strategic Advisor, Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense (Civilian Personnel Policy)
Ms. Malissa Smith	DCPAS, ESI Director
Dr. Angelia Deloach	DCPAS, Program Integrator/ESI
Ms. Aquila Stewart	DCPAS Interim Director, Employment and Compensation
Ms. Brenda Nicholson	DCPAS, ESI Associate Director
Brandon Hartzog	American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE) DEFCON; Navy Caucus Vice Chair
Tim Kauffman	Communications Specialist American Federation of Government Employees, AFL-CIO
John Charles Anderson, J.D., PhD	Defense Lobbyist, AFGE
Stephen Booth	AFGE DEFCON LE and Security Chair
Jim Buchman, ACC, PMP	DoD Chief Learning Officer, Civilian Workforce Director, Talent Development Chief, DoD Leader Development Programs Defense Civilian Personnel Advisory Service (DCPAS)
Ms. Sukeena Blair	DCPAS, Technical Director
Ms. Joy Jones-Haskins	DCPAS, Senior Strategic Advisor
Nikki Cabezas	Director, Financial Information Management Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army Financial Operations & Information (DASA-FOI)
Jared Serbu	Federal News Network, Deputy Editor
Haley Murphy	Interested member of public
Nalo Washington	Workforce Development Program Manager
Dennis Hickman	President, AFGE Local 1263
Anthony Verducci	Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy, Civilian Personnel
Desiree Seifert	Associate Director, Strategic Civilian Recruitment, DCPAS